The original farmhouse of Matthias Alten is the centerpiece
of Olde Avon Village. This Georgian-style brick farmhouse,
that was built around 1850, houses the Tree House Gallery
and Tea Room. The Tree House offers antiques and
collectibles, folk art and accessories while the Tea Room serves
light lunches, Sunday brunches and parties–all in the charming
atmosphere of this restored 1850s century home.
The original Jonathan Gibbs house, built between
1851 and 1857, was moved to Olde Avon Village in 1987
from Stoney Ridge Rd and is a Greek Revival-Style home.
Avon Train Depot
The 1882 restored Avon Train Depot and the 1918
Baltimore and Ohio Caboose. Avon Train Depot is home
to Methodology Pilates.
The Lewis House, built around 1843, is made from sandstone
from the Amherst quarries and reputed to be the only pyramid-
roofed stone house in Ohio. The Lewis house was moved from
Center Road near Rt. 83 in August, 2002. The Lewis house
is home to Details, an upscale gift shop and more.
The Blackwell Barn, built around 1851, which is formerly
known as the Ewers barn, is constructed of hardwood lumber
harvested in central Ohio. The style of the barn is of German
Dutch architecture and assembled in the fashion of that era.
The Ewer Barn is an evening restaurant. Strip a Steak House
offers customers the combination of the primitive atmosphere of this
1840s barn and the elegance of evening dining. Although the emphasis
is on USDA prime beef, customers will be pleased to find a wide array
of appetizers, salads and other non-beef selections.
George Clifton came from England in the early 1830s.
The Clifton barn was built in the early to mid 1840s and is
now available for private parties and catering events.
For more information contact
Ron Larson 1-216-337-2094
(for the private parties)
2013 Olde Avon Village.